Men ought always to pray, and not to faint.

Agur’s Prayer

wise man prayingGod, I am tired, so tired. How can I keep going? I have done some foolish things Lord  which has left me feeling like I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer. Spiritually, I feel like I am in kindergarten. I have more questions than answers. I wonder what heaven is like. I don’t know how You created this gigantic universe or how you sustain it. I want to know you better and I want to know Your son. There is one thing that I do know: Every word that you speak is true. You are a safe place to those who seek refuge in You. I fear You LORD, I would not dare change one word in the bible for fear You would make a liar out of me. God I ask You to do two things for me before I die. I want to be a man of integrity, to be honest as the day is long and give me only enough food for each day. If you give me too much, I might trust in riches rather than You. I do ask for my daily bread, otherwise I might steal and bring shame on Your name.
 
[Agur prayer is found in Proverbs 30. The above is a paraphrase based on the ERV.  Some think Agur is a pen name for Solomon. Agur in Hebrew means ‘compiler’ and Jakeh [listed as Agur’s father] means ‘without sin’. My problem with this view is the humility found in the prayer. I see no such humility in Solomon. Either way, the prayer expresses the desire of my heart.]

Leave a comment